Date(s) - 02/26/2018
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

This event is sold out. Please email [email protected] to be added to the waiting list.

Join us for our February EDTalks, where we’ll focus on rethinking school suspensions and the use of restorative practices and circle-keeping in schools.

Engaging Youth to Address Racial Disproportionality in School Suspensions
Maren Henderson is an Evaluation Specialist for Minneapolis Public Schools, where she coordinates the Youth Participatory Evaluation program for the district. Maren uses evaluation to empower underrepresented communities and inform equity-driven decision making. She holds a Master of Public Policy from the University of Minnesota Humphrey School of Public Affairs with a concentration in youth and education policy and program evaluation. Maren will be joined by a student from the Youth Participatory Evaluation program.

Restorative Practices and Peacemaking Circles in Schools: A Way of Being
Jamie Williams is a restorative practices consultant, trainer, teacher and peacemaking circle-keeper. She has worked as a Restorative Justice Coordinator in Wisconsin, supported Project Launch at the Red Cliff Reservation Early Childhood Center and the Amicus Radius Program (a Restorative Justice Program for juvenile girls) and served as a Minnesota Department of Corrections circle-keeper. Jamie is a graduate of Minneapolis Public Schools and earned her master’s degree in restorative justice, restorative practices and peacemaking circles.


EDTalks: Rethinking Discipline
& Restorative Practices in Schools
Monday, February 26
6- 7:30pm (doors at 5:30pm)
Tickets: $5
2528 Nicollet Ave S
Minneapolis, MN (Map)

Parking can be a challenge, so arrive early. Some parking is available on the street and in nearby lots. We encourage you to carpool or take public transportation if possible.

For questions about tickets or accessibility, contact Rachel at 612-455-1559.

EDTalks is presented by AchieveMpls and Citizens League in partnership with Indigo Education and Pollen and sponsored by The Bush Foundation and the Verne C. Johnson Family Foundation.