March 15, 2012

Dear Legislator:

We believe now is the time to expand the innovative, cost-effective and popular MNPASS program.

We're writing to let you know that the Citizens League strongly supports the expansion of MNPASS to the I-35E corridor.

- Residents in the east and north Twin Cities Metropolitan Area deserve the same choices and congestion reduction benefits as residents in the south and west parts of the region currently enjoy on I-394 and I-35W.
- MNPASS benefits all motorists and transit users in a congested corridor, not just those who choose to pay for the benefit.
- In addition, expanding the program in other parts of the Metro Area will increase
 usage everywhere as the practicality and "usability" of the program increases.
 Those who do participate in MNPASS will also be able to use their transponders
 along I-35W and I-394 moving toward a greater metro-wide impact on reducing
 congestion.

When all lanes of a freeway are allowed to congest to the point of "stop and go," fewer vehicles get through the corridor than if free flow is maintained in one lane. Thus, maintaining free flow in just one lane benefits everyone, including solo drivers who choose not to participate in MNPASS. MNPASS is a new level of choice that benefits all commuters.

MNPASS is a key element to providing the greatest number of choices to all commuters and East Metro commuters should not be denied additional choices and benefits that are afforded others in the region.

We urge you to support the expansion of MNPASS to I-35E, and to contact us with any questions.

Thanks for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Sean Kershaw
Executive Director

Bob DeBoer Director of Policy Development



213 E 4th Street, Suite 425
St. Paul MN 55101
Phone: (651) 293-0575
Fax: (651) 293-0576
Email: info@citizensleague.org

Web: www.citizensleague.org

2012 Board of Directors

Abdisalam Adam Brian Bell Duane Benson Emmett Coleman Claudia Dengler Bright Dornblaser Ward Einess

Michele Engdahl Rondi Erickson Jennifer Ford Reedy

Jennifer Godinez
Kevin Goodno

Peggy Gunn

Tess Hohman
Bob Josephson

Sheila Kiscaden

Jeff Peterson

Zach Pettus Lisa Piskor

Irene Quarshie

Nena Street, Chair

Tom Teigen

Diane Tran

Donna Zimmerman

Sean Kershaw, Executive Director